5000 Greenbag Road, Morgantown, WV 26501 info@morgantowndance.org 304-292-3266


Mission Statement

Morgantown Dance is dedicated to promoting education in dance and to providing performance opportunities for greater Morgantown and surrounding communities.


Founded in 1991, the Northern West Virginia Dance Council, now dba Morgantown Dance, was established to provide oversight and to organize development opportunities in support of the Morgantown Dance Studio. It also works to create relationships with other arts organizations and regional businesses to promote dance in the communities supported by those enterprises.

Going back to our origins, The Morgantown Ballet, which flourished during the 1980’s under the artistic direction of Fiona Morris, grew out of Jim Laub’s Appalachian Dance Theater. In turn, the Morgantown Ballet became Ballet West Virginia until funding cuts made it impossible to support a professional company.

In 1991 the Northern West Virginia Dance Council, a non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of dance education and performance, was founded and provided performance opportunities for local dancers, and dance education through its school, the Morgantown Dance Studio. Then in 2005, in an effort to reflect the scope of its work accurately, the Northern West Virginia Dance Council became Morgantown Dance.

In January 2008, the Morgantown Youth Ballet was formed as the performing company of Morgantown Dance. The goals of the Youth Ballet are to provide an outlet for dancers seeking advanced dance training and performances opportunities. Acceptance into the Youth Ballet is by audition or invitation.

Currently Morgantown Dance serves as the umbrella organization for Morgantown Dance Studio, the Morgantown Ballet Company, and the Morgantown Youth Ballet Company. Morgantown Dance also sponsors many community productions that are open to area dancers of all levels.

The Northern West Virginia Dance Council, dba Morgantown Dance, is a not-for-profit corporation, exempt from tax under IRS clause 501(C)(3).

Board of Directors

Liz Finklea, Interim President

Janie Rubenstein, Secretary

Frank Prascik, Treasurer

Debbie West

Nicky Decker

Michael Turner